Wednesday, 2 September 2015


Buy Links:   Amazon | B & N | iTunes Kobo
Pietro Gustovi has been through a lot in his life. If it wasn't for his father's closest friend, Giovanni Spontagio, things would have turned out a lot differently for him. Knowing he owes Giovanni everything, he does his best to stay away from the one person that he loves, Lucy Spontagio.
Sick of living life under her dad's watchful eyes, Lucy escapes to New York where she auditions to become a prima ballerina. Being offered a position means everything, but there's no way her father will allow her freedom to achieve her dream. Unless someone is watching over her. 
What an interesting read about a hero's survival, and the gratitude he owes one man, a heroine's determination to achieve her dreams and forbidden love. I really enjoyed how this book started by introducing the hero and what he's been through in his life. I could see why he believes he owes Giovanni so much.
I thought the plot was engaging, for at least a little while, yet I felt it stalled at different moments and I kept putting it down to take a break. There were so many questions that needed answering. Why wouldn't Giovanni help Pietro get the answers he wanted about his parents? Couldn't the man understand that Pietro needed to know? Did Giovanni have something to do with what happened to his parents and doesn't want Pietro to learn the truth?
The dialogue was good. There was some suspense, some sweet moments, and some tense ones as Pietro struggles to stay away from Lucy and deal with the fact that he isn't obtaining the answers he wants in regards to his parents. I liked both characters. Lucy is very driven to achieve her dream, and isn't about to let anything stand in her way, not even her father. While Pietro is protective and caring when it comes to Lucy. But he's also very driven in going after what he wants. I liked their back stories as well, but I think Pietro's should have been explored a lot more. The chemistry between the pair was good, but I don't think the sex scenes did that chemistry the justice it deserved.  
Overall, this book was a series of ups and downs for me. I liked it, but the fact that it didn't end the way I like my romance novels to end was disappointing. Perhaps I'll give the next book a chance just to discover what happens to Pietro. 

Publication Date: August 25th 2015 / Loveswept / Spontagio Family #1
In a series debut for fans of Tracy Wolff and Sylvia Day, New York Timesbestselling author Missy Johnson asks a burning question: What happens when love is undeniable—and taboo?
Pietro Gustovi is loyal, polished, and hard as stone, the kind of guy women want and men respect. At twenty-three, he’s survived tragedies that would break men twice his age. And he owes it all to his father’s closest friend, Giovanni Spontagio, who took him in as an orphaned teenager. Pietro would give his life for Giovanni . . . but his heart belongs to Giovanni’s daughter.
Raised in Chicago under the spotlight of power and privilege, Lucy Spontagio feels most alive on stage. Determined to become a prima ballerina, she escapes her father’s protective gaze long enough to audition for the ballet in New York City. Soon, however, Lucy realizes that she is not alone. Pietro is watching her back. And though he’s like a brother to her, Lucy cannot deny the thrill she feels knowing his eyes are on her.
Pietro could never betray his mentor by sleeping with his only child. But Lucy follows her passions, no matter how forbidden. Soon their nights are consumed by explosive, red-hot temptation—a dance that will expose shocking secrets and burn everything else to the ground.

Author Links:  Website | Facebook | Twitter | GoodReads


No comments:

Post a Comment